Searching for June Cleaver

W.W.J.D.: What would June do?

Retro Eyewear Anyone?

I’ve become blind in my old age.  Since turning 25, I finally admitted to myself that I can’t see.  After months of squinting at traffic signs, not recognizing people in Publix, and trying to read the ticker tape at the bottom of Fox News, I broke down and made an appointment to get my eyes checked.  Never excited to go to the doctor’s office, I am giddy thinking about the possibility I may be able to pick up a stylish pair of glasses.

In college, I would have chosen these as my ideal pair:

However, I have “slightly” matured since my Stetson University days.  Powder pink cat’s eye glasses don’t translate into intelligence in the workplace.

At a recent public relations event, a fellow blogger (check out her blog, Prêt-à-Porter Palm Beach) recommended I take a look at Warby Paker, “an alternative to the overpriced and bland eyewear available today.”  The company was started by four friends who met at The Wharton School in Philadelphia, shared a quirky, vintage style, and wanted to provide quality, inexpensive glasses to fellow vintage-loving quirky people all while making the world a better place. Warby Parker was born, named after two Jack Kerouac characters, Zagg Parker and Warby Pepper. How cool is that?  Each pair, with a few exceptions, is only $95.00 and includes anti-reflective prescription lenses, free shipping, and 30-day returns. Plus, through the company’s “Buy a Pair, Give a Pair” program, your purchase helps provide glasses for those who may not be able to afford a pair otherwise.  Since it’s inception, Warby Parker has distributed over 150,000 pairs of optical glasses.

Warby Parker sells their glasses exclusively through their website and boutiques.  You will never find Warby Parker glasses in an optical shop or retail store.

The Warby Parker website is user-friendly, allowing you to upload a photo and virtually try on every pair of glasses available.  Once you’ve chosen five frames you may want to purchase, you can order through the company’s Home Try-On program.  Warby Parker will ship you five frames with non-prescription lenses to test drive for five days.

Here’s a few of my favorite frames – modeled virtually, of course.  What do you think?  Any favorites?

Preston

I think these might have been the “Waldo” glasses.

Not sure what these were called either but they’re supposed to be a modern take on the over-sized cat’s-eye shape.

Hmmm, maybe more cat’s-eye? I knew I should have taken notes!

Downing

Mallory

Marshall

And then, just for the halibut, I had to try on the monocle.

Colonel

Pretty dapper, huh?

Anyway, I’ll let you know what I choose (or if I even need glasses at all) some time after Thanksgiving.  I seem to be able to read just fine, so glasses won’t interfere with my ability to read the raisin pie recipe.

If your interested, follow Warby Parker’s blog, Zagg Pepper.  Like June, they love retro.

2 comments on “Retro Eyewear Anyone?

  1. Sue
    November 28, 2012

    I LOVE Warby Parker! I have a few of their home try-on pairs on loan now, to check out their selections for Fall. Several are a hit, one was a miss, though I liked the color. I’ve already ordered a pair of glasses, their Nedwin model in Summer Green, and so far am happy with how it turned out with my prescription and measurements.

  2. missemrenee
    November 28, 2012

    Thanks Sue! I’m supposed to get my try-on pairs in the mail today!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2012 by in Fashion and tagged , , , , , .
