Searching for June Cleaver

W.W.J.D.: What would June do?

Fall Cooking Begins!

This morning at breakfast, I perused the latest issue of Bon Appétit and found a few new recipes I want to try this Fall.  Although I often find the magazine’s meals too advanced for my taste (I’m still in the EasyBake Oven stage), the September 2012 issue peaked my interest.  Perhaps these will end up being featured by June in the near future!

Lima Beans with Red Wine Vinaigrette: I love Lima Beans! They were definitely an acquired taste but once I learned to like them, I was hooked. I can’t even remember the last time I ate a Lima Bean – even more incentive to try this in the upcoming season.

Peanut Milk: This recipe requires you to roast your own peanuts, something I’ve never even pondered attempting. Ingredients include peanuts, whole milk, heavy cream, dark brown sugar, and a vanilla bean.

I fell in love with this photograph from this month’s feature article “The Hot 10: America’s Best New Restaurants.” I’m assuming this is the wife of the owner of the Number Four Restaurant, Luce (pronounced LOO-chay). Her look is classic June: hair pulled back, pearl earrings, red lips, polka-dots, and an apron. And the food she’s carrying also looks pretty swell!

Old-Fashioned Blueberry Coffee Cake: Something I’ve discovered as I’ve matured is that I really do enjoy fruit in baked goods. When I was younger, the texture of mushy apples, cherries, and blueberries made me want to gag. Now there’s nothing more I wouldn’t like right now then a big hunk of this coffee cake from a restaurant in Decatur, Georgia called Cakes & Ale. It was also featured in the article “The Hot 10: America’s Best New Restaurants” as Number Ten.

I’m also making it my mission this Fall to learn how to properly cut broccoli, demonstrated on the Bon Appétit website. Follow this link for step-by-step instructions:
http://www.bonappetit.com/blogsandforums/blogs/badaily/2012/08/how-to-cut-broccoli.html

Happy Fall cooking and baking!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2012 by in Food and tagged , , , .
